Scripps Florida Scientist Named Finalist for Blavatnik National Awards for Young Scientists

Matthew Disney, a professor in the Department of Chemistry on the Florida campus of The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI) has been named one of 30 national finalists for the Blavatnik National Awards for Young Scientists in the Chemistry category.

The annual Blavatnik Awards, established in 2007 by the Blavatnik Family Foundation and administered by the New York Academy of Sciences, recognize exceptional young researchers who will “drive the next generation of innovation by answering today’s most complex and intriguing scientific questions.”

“I am very grateful for our group’s recognition from the Blavatnik Foundation and what it represents—that the group has been doing important science and changing what the world views as druggable targets,” Disney said.  “It is also important recognition for my great co-workers and team members that have tackled important problems that many thought could not be solved.”

“We look forward to learning of the directions that the pioneering work of the 2017 National Finalists will take in the coming years,” said Len Blavatnik, Founder and Chairman of Access Industries, head of the Blavatnik Family Foundation and an Academy Board Governor in a statement.

The finalists are considered 30 of America’s most important young scientific researchers aged 42 years and younger. They were selected from 308 nominations of faculty-rank researchers working at 149 of the nation’s top academic and research institutions, representing 41 states and the District of Columbia. From these finalists, three Laureates, from the disciplines of Life Sciences, Chemistry and Physical Sciences & Engineering, will be announced in late June 2017. Each Laureate will receive an unrestricted cash prize of $250,000—the largest prize of its kind for early career scientists.

In 2016, TSRI Professor Phil Baran, Darlene Shiley Chair in Chemistry and a TSRI alumnus, was named a Blavatnik Laureate in Chemistry.

About The Scripps Research Institute

The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI) is one of the world’s largest independent, not-for-profit organizations focusing on research in the biomedical sciences. TSRI is internationally recognized for its contributions to science and health, including its role in laying the foundation for new treatments for cancer, rheumatoid arthritis, hemophilia, and other diseases. An institution that evolved from the Scripps Metabolic Clinic founded by philanthropist Ellen Browning Scripps in 1924, the institute now employs more than 2,500 people on its campuses in La Jolla, CA, and Jupiter, FL, where its renowned scientists—including two Nobel laureates and 20 members of the National Academies of Science, Engineering or Medicine—work toward their next discoveries. The institute’s graduate program, which awards PhD degrees in biology and chemistry, ranks among the top ten of its kind in the nation. In October 2016, TSRI announced a strategic affiliation with the California Institute for Biomedical Research (Calibr), representing a renewed commitment to the discovery and development of new medicines to address unmet medical needs. For more information, see